Various Artists: The Complete Songs of Robert Burns Vol. 12

Est Delivery:5-15 days
Availability:On order

Media: CD
Genre: Folk & Traditional
Catalogue Number: CKD 201
Label: Linn records
Released: 2002

Dr Fred Freeman , the series producer for The Complete Songs of Robert Burns, is an Honorary Fellow of the Department of English Literature at the University of Edinburgh. His research interests include the vernacular revival, ethnic minority writers in Scotland and, of course, Song. Specifically the song as a form in the 18th-century, with reference to Allan Ramsay, Robert Tannahill, James Hogg, Sir Walter Scott, contemporary Scottish songwriters, and Burns. He said of the project:
I have intended the series to be a tribute both to Burns the song-writer and to the contemporary Scottish folk movement: in many respects, the most dynamic folk movement in Europe.

This product can also be bought as part of The Complete Songs Of Robert Burns Box Set


  1. Love & Liberty - A Cantata :
  2. Recitation ( Fred Freeman)
  3. I am a Son of Mars (Tich Frier)
  4. Recitation ( Fred Freeman)
  5. I Once was a Maid (Mairi MacInnes)
  6. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  7. Sir Wisdoms A Fool (Tich Frier)
  8. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  9. A Highland Lad my Love was Born (Mairi MacInnes)
  10. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  11. Let Me Ryke up to Dight that Tear (Rod Paterson)
  12. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  13. My Bonie Lass (Ian Bruce)
  14. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  15. I Am a Bard (Ian Bruce)
  16. Recitation (Fred Freeman)
  17. See the Smoking Bowl (Rod Paterson)
  18. Its Up Wi the Souters o Selkirk (Ross Kennedy)
  19. Youre Welcome to Despots, Dumourier (Steve Byrne)
  20. Again Rejoicing Nature Sees (Gordon Kelly)
  21. Adieu! (Jim Reid)
  22. Orthodox, Orthodox (Kirsten Easdale)
  23. O Wat Ye What that Lo es Me (Gordon Kelly)
  24. O Bonie was Yon Rosy Brier / O Lovely Polly Stewart (John Nichol)
  25. Farewell Thou Stream (Steve Byrne)
  26. The Auld Mans Mares Dead / What Will I do Gin my Hoggie die? (Christine Kydd)
  27. Now Spring Has Clad (Gordon Kelly)
  28. There was a Bonie Lass / Does Haughty Gaul Invasion Threat? (John Nichol)
  29. Go On Sweet Bird (Christine Kydd)
  30. Dire was the Hate (Wendy Weatherby)
  31. O Sing a New Song (Janet Russell)
  32. O How Shall I Unskilfu Try (Rod Paterson)
  33. Ah Chloris Since It May Not Be / O My Luves Like a Red, Red Rose (Tich Frier)

View directory entry for Ian Bruce

View directory entry for Robert Burns

View directory entry for Steve Byrne

View directory entry for Kirsten Easdale

View directory entry for Dr Fred Freeman

View directory entry for Tich Frier

View directory entry for Christine Kydd

View directory entry for Mairi MacInnes

View directory entry for Rod Paterson

View directory entry for Jim Reid

View directory entry for Janet Russell

View directory entry for Wendy Weatherby

Supported by:

Scottish Music Centre is supported by the Scottish Arts Council Scottish Music Centre is supported by the IMC Scottish Music Centre is supported by IAMIC

Scottish Music Centre, City Halls, Candleriggs, Glasgow | T: +44 (0)141 552 5222 | E:
Scottish Music Information Centre Ltd (trading as Scottish Music Centre) is a registered charity: SC012776
VAT Registration Number: 932 8514 18