Scottish Guitar Quartet : Near The Circle

Est Delivery:7-17 days
Availability:On order

Media: CD
Genre: Jazz & Blues
Label: Circular
Released: 2001

The SGQ are a unique contemporary music group, comprising four of Scotland's
leading guitarists/composers. Known for performing wide-ranging original
music, the Quartet¹s sound reflects their individual musical passions and
results in scintillating, virtuoso performances.

Launched to critical acclaim in 2001, Near The Circle was the Scottish Guitar Quartet's first album release. Positive and exciting reviews followed including the cryptic phrase from one reviewer saying that the album had that "clean, just brushed my teeth feel" about it! Near The Circle has had a massive impact for the band, not only in media profile, but in bringing the band to the attention of International hi-tech instrument supplier Roland UK. After hearing the album, Roland asked if the band would be interested in endorsing their acclaimed VG-88 Cosm guitar synth....after a couple of seconds thought, the band collectively said.....YES!


  1. Near The Circle -Malcolm MacFarlane
  2. One More Day - Ged Brockie
  3. Denial - Malcolm MacFarlane
  4. Ice - Nigel Clark
  5. This Is Just To Say/Green Fields Under Snow - Ross Milligan
  6. Forget Me Not - Ged Brockie
  7. Silver Hills - Malcolm MacFarlane
  8. Pools In Sunlight - Malcolm MacFarlane
  9. Reaching Forth - Malcolm MacFarlane
  10. Wes - Malcolm MacFarlane
  11. Twisted To The Four - Ged Brockie
  12. New Beginnings - Ged Brockie
  13. Near The Circle (edit)
  14. Ice (alt take)

View directory entry for Scottish Guitar Quartet

Supported by:

Scottish Music Centre is supported by the Scottish Arts Council Scottish Music Centre is supported by the IMC Scottish Music Centre is supported by IAMIC

Scottish Music Centre, City Halls, Candleriggs, Glasgow | T: +44 (0)141 552 5222 | E:
Scottish Music Information Centre Ltd (trading as Scottish Music Centre) is a registered charity: SC012776
VAT Registration Number: 932 8514 18