Various Artists: The Robert Burns Collection-The Songs

Est Delivery:5-15 days
Availability:On order

Media: CD
Genre: Folk & Traditional
Catalogue Number: LCOM 6040
Released: 1995

"The songs of Robert Burns can rank with any in the world. As in all his verse, the reader will not find a discordant or jarring consonant or vowel, which is an indication of the musicality of the poet. The leider of Schubert or Wolfe may resemble the songs of Burns but even these magnificent creations cannot surpass the international appeal of the songs represented here. They were written by a man steeped in the history of his country, a man who listend to and absorbed the folklore, the traditional songs and melodies of his time, and through his genius made them immortal", Joe Campbell, 1995.
Sung by:- Kenneth McKellar,Moira Anderson, Peter Morrison, The Scottish Philharmonic Singers, Isobel Buchanan, Ossian, Alex Beaton, Dalriada, Helen McArthur and Jean Redpath .


  1. A Man's a Man
  2. O My Love is Like a Red, Red Rose
  3. Ae Fond Kiss
  4. Afton Water
  5. The Bonnie Lass of Ballochmyle
  6. Ye Banks and Braes
  7. Aye waukin' O
  8. The De'ils Awa' Wi' the Exiseman
  9. A Rosebud by my Early Walk
  10. Scots Wha Hae
  11. I'm O'er Young to Marry Yet
  12. There Was a Lad
  13. The Birks o' Aberfeldy
  14. MacPherson's Farewell
  15. John Anderson My Jo
  16. Auld Lang Syne

Customers who purchased this item also bought:

Supported by:

Scottish Music Centre is supported by the Scottish Arts Council Scottish Music Centre is supported by the IMC Scottish Music Centre is supported by IAMIC

Scottish Music Centre, City Halls, Candleriggs, Glasgow | T: +44 (0)141 552 5222 | E:
Scottish Music Information Centre Ltd (trading as Scottish Music Centre) is a registered charity: SC012776
VAT Registration Number: 932 8514 18